This weekend in Ottawa/ Gatineau: PowerShift 2012!

For those of you in the Ottawa/Gatineau region (or not too far away!), Students on Ice will be attending PowerShift 2012 – a gathering of young people from across the country to strengthen the movement for climate and environmental justice. On the weekend of October 26-29th over 1500 youth from all walks of life, coming from all across the country will join together in Ottawa and Gatineau for a historic gathering to build the movement for a just and sustainable future.

PowerShift 2012 will feature: leading voices in the movement to stop climate change and social injustice including Bill McKibben, Naomi Klein, Winona LaDuke and many others; workshops and panel discussions; several skill tracks that you can chose from (to improve your skills in media and communication, campaigns and actions, education, outreach, and investigation); panels to learn more about the impacts, policies, solutions, and other issues related to climate change and environmental injustice; social activities and events; an Action and Advocacy day on October 29th for you to put the skills you developed over the weekend to work.

Here’s an excerpt from the PowerShift 2012 website:

Power Shift 2012 aims to build an environmental and climate justice movement that can transform our society, so that our future can be enjoyed by everyone, not only those who can afford it. Power Shift is organized by youth for youth and aims to mobilize passionate youth from affected communities and various sectors of civil society  to explore multiple  ways of taking action and work to develop each other’s capacity and abilities.

Check out for more information on this exciting event and watch the video below from Greenpeace International Executive Director Kumi Naidoo. Hope to see you at PowerShift 2012! If you plan on attending be sure to register in advance and come say hi to Students on Ice (look for the blue shirts)!

Students on Ice is proudly supported by bv02.

This website was made possible by a generous contribution from the Leacross Foundation.