Scholarship Program

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑑᖅᑐᑦ ᒪᒃᐱᕋᖏᑦ ᐅᖃᓕᒫᕐᓗᒋᑦ

Students on Ice is dedicated to making its programs accessible to all high school and university students, regardless of their socio-economic or cultural background. Thanks to the SOI Foundation’s great base of partners, sponsors and supporters, the Foundation has been able to offer scholarships to over 80% of participants on its recent Arctic Expeditions.

SOI runs a comprehensive Scholarship Program through which it offers scholarships to a wide variety of students. Scholarships generally cover the full expedition cost for students to participate. Scholarship applicants must demonstrate that they want to participate for the right reasons. SOI’s Expeditions are learning journeys that require time, energy, passion and interest, before, during and after the expedition. Scholarship applicants must be committed to furthering their personal, educational and career development. They must demonstrate a keen interest in the Polar Regions and have the desire to bring positive change to their lives and communities.

Supporters, sponsors and partners decide to provide scholarships for a variety of reasons and to students who meet their organizational criteria. What SOI’s generous donors have in common is the objective to provide deserving youth with a life-changing opportunity that will contribute positively to their personal, educational and career development and ultimately to sustainable development of the Polar Regions and around the world.

The Arctic 2015 Scholarship Partners and scholarship recipients are:

Arctic 2015 Scholarship Partners Arctic 2015 Scholarship Recipients
Adventure Canada Lora Oyukuluk
Baffinland Cody Pitseeolak
Climate One Nastaran Pazouki
NordMAB Corine Cadoret, Noah Picard-Simon
Oceans North Canada Nivi Bak Hansen, Lindsay Evaloajuk, Gage Nochasak
Parks Canada Rachel Boere, Louis Bonnetrouge, Alexander Bouvier, Erinn Drage, Andrew Fitzsimmons, Jonathan Lidd, Phoenix Massan-Wave, Justin Milton, Camille Morin, Myca Nakashook, Stephanie Scarlett, Colin Sutherland
Stantec Robert Comeau
The Atuqtuarvik Corporation Maliki Kattegatsiak
The Beatrice Snyder Foundation Kevin Huo, Max Markowitz, Aislinn Mumford, Isobel Obrecht
The Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board Rebecka Ferraro, Maria Dani Gonzales, Alishah Hussain, Michael Mehreteab, Nathan Pinto, Jesse Zarger
The Embassy of the United States in Canada Amber Kunz Dwyer, Sophia Winkler
The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador – Department of Fisheries & Aquaculture Mackenzie Jefferies
The Government of Nunavut – Department of Culture and Heritage Tooma Laisa
The Government of Nunavut – Department of Environment Parr Etidloie, Charmaine Putulik
The Inuvialuit Regional Corporation Cameron Flooren
The Kakivak Association Tyson Angnetsiak, Brian Ituluk, Lena Korgak Doucet
The Kativik Regional Government – Regional and Local Development Department Akinisie Novalinga, Sarah Puxley
The Kativik Regional Government – Sustainable Employment Department Michael Aliqu, Daniel Onningnak
The Kitikmeot Inuit Association Pauli Illuitok, James Takkiruq
The Leacross Foundation Christina Cheung, Gabrielle Foss, Vivian Lee, Lyric Oblin-Moses, Alice Xu, Christella Igihozo, Didiane Shenge
The Makivik Corporation Ned Gordon, Sarah Iqaluk, Jeannie Kitishimik
The Makivik Corporation and the Kativik Regional Government Lizzie Johannes, Madeline Yaaka
The Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland tbc
The NCC Investment Group Ashley Cummings
The Nunatsiavut Government Megan Dicker, Hase Holwell
The Ottawa-Carleton District School Board Henry Daniel, Matthew Newell
The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation Fréderika Giorcelli, Justin Sargenti
The Qikiqtaaluk Corporation Semee Pitsulak
The Research and Development Corporation of Newfoundland and Labrador Nitish Bhatt, Victoria Han, Dakshita Jagota
The Royal Norwegian Embassy Kristine Moseid
The Schad Foundation/ Earth Rangers Emi Kingan, Taia Steward, Matthew Thompson, Andrew Xu
The Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation Ashraf Nurulfaizin, Raslan Rahman, Ahmad Zulkifli, Nurul Zulkifle
WWF – Canada Domonic Iqalukjuak, Ruth Kaviok, Goliah Makletzoff Cazon
WWF – Greenland Malu Ostermann

Apply for scholarships

The SOI Foundation provides scholarships for each Arctic and Antarctic Expedition. Check out whether there is a scholarship for you!

Read More

Support SOI

Your support to the SOI Foundation provides youth from around the world with life changing opportunities and the resources to become leaders and global citizens.

Read More

Alumni Stories

SOI Expeditions are just the first step in a life-long journey of discovery. Learn more about our global community of talented and diverse alumni.

Read More

Students on Ice is proudly supported by bv02.

This website was made possible by a generous contribution from the Leacross Foundation.